Swing State

Politics and Humor…but I repeat myself

College Humor hits it big, better vids, Dungey gets conservative, Stephen Colbert tastes good

So I flicked on MSNBC when I got home from class today to hear what the geriatric media is talking about and right away I see one of my favorite websites being praised on Allison Stewart’s “The Most” (Allison Stewart was actually not in today.)

For those of you who are not really into MSNBC, remember Allison Stewart from back in her MTV days.  My teacher used to put together 20 minute clips of her and other MTV reporters covering political stuff because she thought it would be a hip way to get us interested in politics. (In all actuality I like to refer to the actual use of that time as, “20 minutes for me and my buddies to copy every ounce of the previous nights homework from one another.)  But I guess considering most of the content on this blog my old teacher would be proud to see me so interested in politics…ahh memories.

Anyway, today “The Most” featured some clips from College Humor.  It was great to see CH getting some press in that mainstream media. 

One of the videos MSNBC showed was the Nintendo high-school band doing an NES medley: (Not a bad choice)

Now I know that most of the stuff on CH is unfit for MSNBC to play but I think they could have come up with something a little better for their two other choices, which I can not even find.  This one would have made me happy:

Dead Spin has an interesting article on Tony Dungy and his thoughts on gay marriage from the Indy Star:

“I appreciate the stance they’re taking, and I embrace that stance,” Dungy said. Local and national gay-rights organizations had criticized Dungy for accepting the invitation to appear at the banquet. The institute, affiliated with Focus on the Family, has been one of the leading supporters of the marriage amendment. “IFI is saying what the Lord says,” Dungy said. “You can take that and make your decision on which way you want to be. I’m on the Lord’s side.”

I got another interesting note about DeadSpin the other day when I was talking to one of my buddies.  Apparently he is in a DeadSpin sponsored bracket pool over at www.espn.com.  I guess ESPN has a bunch of words that you are not able to usewhile typing on the site or naming your pool.  Obviously this is not rid the site of profanity, but apparently the DeadSpin pool had to be named under a pseudonym because DS was not allowed.

What gives…is ESPN a little jealous of the popularity over at DS.

Stephen Colbert’s fame has been launched into the stratosphere as of late and now he has reached what some might call the pinnacle of stardom, his own Ben and Jerry’s Ice Cream flavor: Stephen Colbert’s Americone Dream.

Apparently “It’s the sweet taste of liberty in your mouth.”

March 21, 2007 - Posted by | Just For Fun

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

